Mini Review: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King

Published: June 2014

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller

Series: Bill Hodges Trilogy

My Rating: 5/5

Buy Here: Amazon

a678b-goodreads

Synopsis:

In the frigid pre-dawn hours, in a distressed Midwestern city, hundreds of desperate unemployed folks are lined up for a spot at a job fair. Without warning, a lone driver plows through the crowd in a stolen Mercedes, running over the innocent, backing up, and charging again. Eight people are killed; fifteen are wounded. The killer escapes. In another part of town, months later, a retired cop named Bill Hodges is still haunted by the unsolved crime. When he gets a crazed letter from someone who self-identifies as the “perk” and threatens an even more diabolical attack, Hodges wakes up from his depressed and vacant retirement, hell-bent on preventing another tragedy. Brady Hartfield lives with his alcoholic mother in the house where he was born. He loved the feel of death under the wheels of the Mercedes, and he wants that rush again. Only Bill Hodges, with a couple of highly unlikely allies, can apprehend the killer before he strikes again. And they have no time to lose, because Brady’s next mission, if it succeeds, will kill or maim thousands. Mr. Mercedes is a war between good and evil, from the master of suspense whose insight into the mind of this obsessed, insane killer is chilling and unforgettable.

My Thoughts:

” The fat ex – cop meets the psychopath”

The story is about ex cop Bill Hodges and the Stolen Mercedes. Because of the stolen Mercedes many people killed at City Centers. Now, Bill Hodges searching who is the Mercedes Killer.

Stephen King’s writing never failed to gave me a heart attack. I love the way how he blows up my mind. That’s why he’s my favorite author and greatest author of all times.

I admit that sometimes when I’m reading his stories I have this kind of slump and it’s boring at first but the middle and ending was so good.

So let’s talk about the characters. Bill Hodges, he’s a divorced man and a retired cop. While he’s searching for the Mercedes Killer, he has a sidekick named Holly and Jerome. While Brady is the psychopath here. I didn’t expect him to be like Norman Bates in Psycho films.

This book is worth the read even though it took me a long time to finish this. I love reading psychopath’s stories and at the same time I’m scared.

You know what’s my favorite scene here? That’s when Brady hugs his mother and he got boner.

Everytime I read this book I envisioned it to be a TV Series. Movie is not enough on this because Stephen King has a lot to say.

Leave a Reply

