Review: 52 Likes by Medeia Sharif

52 Likes

Published: January 2015

Publisher: Evernight Teen

Genre: Social Issues, YA, Contemporary

a678b-goodreads

Buy HereAmazon

 

 

 

 

Synopsis: 

“After a brutal rape and near-murder, Valerie wants to get past feelings of victimhood from both the assault and her history of being bullied. She’s plagued by not knowing the identity of her rapist and by the nasty rumors in school about that night. Valerie follows clues from ghostly entities, past victims of the rapist-murderer, contacting her through a social media site—why do all of their eerie photos have 52 likes under them? Their messages are leading her to the mystery man, although he’ll put up a fight to remain hidden.”

My Thoughts:

Source: Thanks to Netgalley and to the publisher– Evernight Teen.

I finished this for 2 days. The story is about Valerie, a survived rape victim. She’s been bullied in her school calling her THOT, SLUT. When spring break is over , she needs to go to school because she didn’t want any rumors. While struggling and searching to the rapist. What if the ghost from the past kept appearing and asks for help?

“I’m Valerie, yes, that’s me, that’s my name. I’m a high school junior, I have plans in my life, to get good grades and go to college. I was just looking for a little fun tonight, and then the masked man found me or followed me. He laid his hands on me and did what he wanted.”

While reading this story, I’m hurt and full of angered. This is my first time to read this kind of story when there’s someone who is a rape victim. Being in Valerie’s position is never been easy. Physical and Emotional trauma you will get. While reading her POV, I can’t fathom why someone could be so cruel and insensitive especially her guidance counselor. She should be a way to help her students especially when there’s a problem. It was disgusting. The reason why it’s name is 52 likes because when someone DM Valerie on Picomatic a picture there’s 52 likes.
My heart beats faster whenever I read this. Everytime when someone sends her a picture and she’s closer to the rapist. The only thing I don’t like about this is when there’s a ghost. I feel like it’s unreal. Well, that’s for me. Does ghost has a cellphone so that they can send you a picture and to communicate you through social media.
This is a sensitive topic and this is really happening in our society. Even though I can’t relate on the character, my feelings were hurt. This book gives a hope to the victims.
It has a scene that Valerie is being raped. If you can’t take it, I advice that you shouldn’t read this.

“People changed. I’ve changed, but few of my peers can see that. To them I’m still a dumb whore they can pick on, and even strangers are now coming after me on Picomatic.”

Leave a Reply

