[Review + Discussion] Sanctuary Bay by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz

Sanctuary Bay: A Novel

 

To be publish: January 19, 2016

Publisher:  St. Martin’s Griffin

Genre: Ya, Mystery, Thriller

Rating: ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆

 

Synopsis:

In this genre-bending YA thriller, will Sarah Merson's shiny new prep school change her life forever or bring it to a dark and sinister end?

When Sarah Merson receives the opportunity of a lifetime to attend the most elite prep school in the country-Sanctuary Bay Academy-it seems almost too good to be true. But, after years of bouncing from foster home to foster home, escaping to its tranquil setting, nestled deep in Swans Island, couldn't sound more appealing. Swiftly thrown into a world of privilege and secrets, Sarah quickly realizes finding herself noticed by class charmer, Nate, as well as her roommate's dangerously attentive boyfriend, Ethan, are the least of her worries. When her roommate suddenly goes missing, she finds herself in a race against time, not only to find her, but to save herself and discover the dark truth behind Sanctuary Bay's glossy reputation. 

In this genre-bending YA thriller, Sanctuary Bay by Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz, Sarah's new school may seem like an idyllic temple of learning, but as she unearths years of terrifying history and manipulation, she discovers this "school" is something much more sinister.

My Thoughts:

( Source: Thanks to NetGalley and St.Martins’s  Griffin to this e-arc copy. This will not influence my reviews and it’s purely my honest opinions.)

The story is about Sarah Merson who has no family since she was a child because her parents got killed. She’s not a typical girl, there’s something on her, her memory is not like the others She remembers what happened on the day her parents killed. People says that it’s impossible to remember what happened on her parents since she’s just a child. And then, she had an opportunity to go to school, the Sanctuary Bay Academy and it’s located in an Island. She had an amazing friends named Karina and Izzy. And when Karina was missing, terrible revelations went out.

Intense. An edge of your seat. That’s how I describe this story but somewhat a bit confusing to me. Confusing because there’s a scene there that its hard for me to understand and I ask myself what is really happening, it’s like a whirlwind but it’s a page turner. This is what I love on thriller story, it makes me scared the hell out of me not because there’s a ghost and it makes me to pause It on reading because of how the story flows.

Let’s talk about the characters. The character development was perfectly okay for me since Sarah our protagonist has a good memory on what happened on the past. At the first, she’s an innocent girl and while the story goes I saw how she changed and I personally don’t see wrong about the characters here.  Sarah felt strange when entering to her new school because her roommates acting different at the end of the night. Actually it’s a mind blowing for me because I didn’t expect this story to be that amazing. I feel like its going to have a second book because for me it’s a cliffhanger. And I hope so, because it’s an amazing book.

I’ll ask you guys a question. What would you do if your school is located in an Island?

For me, it’s a scary thought for my school that I’m attending is located in an Island because what if there’s something happened on that school, there’s a murder and the all the staff there are involved and there’s no one I can find help but myself only.  Funny isn’t it? It’s just what playing on my head whenever I think about this kind of scenario.

What about yours?

Leave a Reply

