Review: The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren E. Morrill

The Trouble with Destiny

 

Published on December 8, 2015 by Delacorte Press

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Rating: ★★

Purchase here: Amazon // Book Depository

a678b-goodreads

 

Synopsis:

It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey… With her trusty baton and six insanely organized clipboards, drum major Liza Sanders is about to take Destiny by storm—the boat, that is. When Liza discovered that her beloved band was losing funding, she found Destiny, a luxury cruise ship complete with pools, midnight chocolate buffets, and a $25,000 spring break talent show prize.

Liza can’t imagine senior year without the band, and nothing will distract her from achieving victory. She’s therefore not interested when her old camp crush, Lenny, shows up on board, looking shockingly hipster-hot. And she’s especially not interested in Russ, the probably-as-dumb-as-he-is-cute prankster jock whose ex, Demi, happens be Liza’s ex–best friend and leader of the Athenas, a show choir that’s the band’s greatest competition.

But it’s not going to be smooth sailing. After the Destiny breaks down, all of Liza’s best-laid plans start to go awry. Liza likes to think of herself as an expert at almost everything, but when it comes to love, she’s about to find herself lost at sea.


Review:

( Source: Thanks to Net Galley and to the publisher Delacorte. This will not influence my reviews.)

I thought I’m gonna love this story but sadly it’s NOO!! It’s hard for me to pick it up again and read it. Here’s some reasons why I don’t like this book:

  1. I’m so frustrated and tired being in Liza’s point of view. I got irritated by her actions and especially treating her bandmates.
  2. The fight with her bestfriend is so shallow. I know that sometimes we can’t avoid arguments between with our bestfriends, BUT the reason of their fight is ridiculous. I mean they can totally fix that and not wait for that too long.
  3. This is the LAST THING WHAT I DON’T LIKE IN THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT’S HAPPENING TOO FAST. That’s when Liza knew that Russ liked her( we all know that Liza has a feelings for Lenny.) and suddenly she liked him back. I was like. WTF! You can’t just fall in love that kind of easy and take note she hates Russ.

I love contemporary romance but this book isn’t for me. Even though I hate this book there’s one thing what I love here. It’s the moral lesson that “you shouldn’t worry about the mistake and failures because you miss all the wonderful adventures.”

I don’t recommend this book to anyone but if you want  to read it, then try give it a shot.

4 Comments

  1. I agree with how fast things went between Liza and Russ. The whole plot actually felt slow and dragging but when it comes to the romance aspect, things came as underdeveloped. It would have been better if it wasn’t full on drama.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

