Review: Broken Skies by Theresa Kay

20486404

Published on April  2014 by Skyscape 

Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult

My Rating: ★★★

Purchase here: Amazon

a678b-goodreads

 

Summary:

Thirty years ago, civilization collapsed. Few survived.
Ten years ago, the aliens arrived…and stayed.
One year ago, I killed two men and went a little crazy.
Today, the aliens took my brother and I will do anything to get him back.

In seventeen-year-old Jax Mitchell’s world, humans are nearly extinct and alien settlers have arrived.

Until recently, the E’rikon have remained segregated in their city and ignored the few humans who have tried to engage them… but now they have taken Jax’s brother. To rescue him, she forms an uneasy alliance with a teenage E’rikon left stranded in the woods. She agrees to guide him to the city if he sneaks her past the human-proof barrier. Too bad it’s not that simple.

Jax, who cannot stand to be touched, finds that she’s drawn to the alien boy with bright green hair and jewel-like scales down his back. And he’s equally affected by her, the courageous redhead with haunted eyes. But she doesn’t know the alien’s true motives and he has no idea that she is much more than she seems.

In this world where alien and human are at odds, the connection forming between the two has consequences. What started off as a rescue mission sets a chain of events in motion which threatens not only the remaining humans and the growing alien society, but Earth itself.


 

Review:

( Source: I would like to thank Theresa Kay for sending this copy. This will not influence my review.)

It’s my first time to read the protagonist were Alien though I’ve watched back then a Movie/TV shows such as E.T and My Love from the Star—a Korean drama and I love them. So I jump up reading this story. It’s my first time to read this kind of story and I obviously have a hard time to imagine the scenes though as what I mentioned above that I’ve watched the shows related to Aliens.

Jasmine or Jax is what she wants to be called for, is our sweet and innocent who has a Twin brother named Jace. Jax is completely opposite of her brother not just because of their gender but it’s on the personality. Jax is always at home and not socializing whereas, Jace is very sociable guy. They don’t have parents so they’re just living with their own. I felt bad for Jax because how her brother wants to protect her. I mean keeping a secret to her sister? That’s really crazy because she’s totally oblivious around her environment. And I love the way that the author change her from the sweet and innocent girl to a brave one. Jace, however, I don’t know what else to say about him but only I was shocked at the end because I can’t really believed how his character changed.

E’rikon is the other name for Alien. One night Jax met Lir—an E’rikon. Okay, I just can’t stop myself reading and giggling when there’s a scene of them were kissing, etc. I won’t spoil too much. Anyways, back to Lir. An alien who’s inlove at Jax. I don’t know what else to describe Lir other than he’s bland. And everytime there’s a scene between Jax and him that really excites me, falling in love to Jax were changed him.

I don’t expect the ending because the story is bland. With all the revelations that went out and their persona changed. I hope the book two were extraordinary compared to this book one. I looovvee their abilities like the telepathy, the emotional connection and sharing of energy and also their’s a dreamscape where you can talk to someone in their dreams, that’s an alien thing.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

