Backlist Revival Project – Cities by Carla De Guzman

23705863

 

Published on November 30, 2014 by Midnight Books

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Goodreads//Amazon

 

 

Synopsis:

Celia has dreams.
She dreams of going to Seoul for that scholarship she never took, of leaving everything behind and moving to New York.
In all those dreams, she finds herself attached to Benedict, the boy she has always loved, who didn’t love her back.

Ben believes in parallel worlds.
Worlds where the things you didn’t do come true—worlds where he went to London and fell in love with Celia, where he shows up on the day she needed him most. He believes that dreams are glimpses into that parallel world, and it’s not a coincidence that Celia’s been having them too.

It’s the day of Ben’s wedding, in the middle of a typhoon in Manila. How will these dreams and unmade decisions change their lives? Will they bring them closer together, or just drive them further apart?

Question and Answer

  1. Give 5 amazing facts about you.

Oh man, I don’t know how ‘amazing’ these facts are, but they are true!

  • We once had to dress up as Tessa Prieto- Valdes for a family party. We were very into themes.
  • I appeared in the opening credits of the popular kids’ show ‘Batibot’ as a kid in a red wagon.
  • When I was a kid, I would only answer to the name ‘Pocahontas’ or ‘Ariel.’
  • I also stole a 1.5 litre Pepsi from a party when I was drunk once, only to give it to a child on the street while my friend was pulling out of the parking lot.
  • I have nine siblings, thirty five cousins on one side and more on the other. That makes family gatherings a little more than wild.
  1. What is your favorite food?

Depends on what I’m craving at the moment, but chocolate and tea are constants.

  1. What is your favorite TV show/s?

Too many to mention! I’m currently getting hooked on the Mindy Project, but before that I was watching a lot of the Great British Bake Off and Broadchurch.

  1. What is your favorite book turned to movie?

Probably the 2005 version of Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightley and Matthew McFayden. I could recite lines from that film in my sleep.

  1. Who is/are author/s that you want to meet in person?

I’m a very shy person, and I feel like if I do meet one of my ‘idol authors’ I will flail about like a fish. But I would ideally like to meet Anna Rifle Bond (an artist), Sarah Addison Allen, Kevin Kwan, Anna Mason (also an artist) and Elizabeth Bard!

  1. Cities that you want to visit someday.

Excluding from the list the cities I’ve already seen and want to come back to, I would love to visit Giverny in France, Edinburgh in Scotland, Mumbai in India, Barcelona in Spain, Mykonos or Santorini in Greece and Stockholm probably!

Excerpt:

Chapter 1

Dreams

THE THING about dreams there’s always something in the back of your mind that tells you that you’re dreaming. It’s like a subconscious warning signal, telling you not to get too involved, not to believe what you think you can see. In dreams, there’s a glow about the edges that you can’t place. Everything is wonderfully unreal. Dreams can end when you want them to.

I was trapped in a dream, a dream that felt like a memory.

There were no glowing edges, or subconscious warnings in my mind as I walked through it. The breeze was humid and real, my toes kicked against the warm rocks baking under the sun. it had to be memory. I never came back to this place after graduation, no matter how much I had loved attending this school. In the harsh and scary real world, I was an adult with an adult job. Now…here I felt I was a young, naïve little thing, still excited at the possibilities of life, still brave about love. That wasn’t who I was anymore, and that hadn’t been who I was in a long time.

So what was I doing here?

 

I stood in the hallways between the parking lot and the Communications building, one of my favorite spots in my school. The sun spent its last moments by glowing brilliant and orange, casting its golden light on everything it touched. My skin prickled in the warmth and my heart fluttered. I turned my hand over and realized that I was holding a fresh white rose.

Oh. This was a memory. A particularly bad one that I had hoped to forget.

The school bells chimed in the distance, and my heart twisted in my ribcage. I tried to wake myself up and stop myself from remembering the horror of this moment, but the light kept me rooted to the spot.

He’s not coming, I told myself, like I was trying to keep my own heart from getting hurt. He didn’t come, remember? He never showed up. Wake up, Celia. Wake up!

I held my breath. You may not die in dreams, but in memories I wasn’t so sure. The world was still and he wasn’t coming.

As the last of the chimes faded away and the sun shed its last rays, a figure appeared at the end of the hall. The footsteps squeaked and drummed against the pavement as I gasped.

Is that…..?

“Celia!” He exclaimed, catching his breath as he finally stopped in front of me, his own white rose in his hand. “Am I late?”

Wake up!!!

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

