Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass

25944385

 

Published on January 26,2016 by HarperTeen

Genre: YA, Mermaids, Fantasy

Rating: ★★ – DNF

Goodreads//Amazon

Synopsis:

From Kiera Cass, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series, comes a captivating stand-alone fantasy romance.

Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who’s everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger . . . but Kahlen can’t bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart?

Review:

Why did I DNF-ed the “THE SIREN’?

So when Kiera Cass wrote a story about royalties, I’m astonished about the whole premise because obviously I haven’t read that kind of stories and I really hate the whole royalty thing and when Kiera re-published her 1st book which is The Siren, I’m like “okay, let’s try this out because it was written by her so it will be my another favorite book from her” BUT I’m sad to say that I DIDN’T LIKE THIS STORY. 15-YEAR OLD CHRISTINE WILL LIKE THIS STORY NOT 19 – YEAR OLD CHRISTINE. 15 CHAPTERS THAT I’VE READ IS ENOUGH TO DNF THIS BOOK.

When you are of the siren, you will sing for the ocean that is your only job and when you finish your job you can do anything on the land like partying, etc. Kahlen is one of them. She’s having a hard time doing her job but loves her sisters. She’s loyal to her new family. then, she met Akinli – he’s a gentleman, and sweet. But Kahlen distances herself to him because she’s different.

HERE’S THE FEW REASONS WHY I DIDN’T LIKE THE STORY:

  • FRUSTRATION ON THE CHARACTERS – while reading this book I don’t have the characters that I can fall for or admired of. All of them were frustrating to me.
  • THE SIREN SINGS FOR THE OCEAN TO FEED HER AND SHE MET A GUY WHO SHE FALL IN LOVE WITH cliché or predictable? I would say that it’s predictable.
  • SLOW PACED – in the first 15 chapters of the book I could say that it is slow paced because of the events on the story.

I recommend this book to the young girls out there ‘cos I know this book is suits for you.

 

Leave a Reply

