Mini Review The Rain Duology: The Rain and The Storm by Virginia Bergin

22525534

Published on October 4, 2016 by Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: YA, Post-Apocalypse

My rating: ★★★

Goodreads//Amazon

Synopsis: 

It’s in the rain…and just one drop will kill you.

They don’t believe it at first. Crowded in Zach’s kitchen, Ruby and the rest of the partygoers laugh at Zach’s parents’ frenzied push to get them all inside as it starts to drizzle. But then the radio comes on with the warning, “It’s in the rain! It’s fatal, it’s contagious, and there’s no cure.”

Two weeks later, Ruby is alone. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or washed their hands with tap water is dead. The only drinkable water is quickly running out. Ruby’s only chance for survival is a treacherous hike across the country to find her father-if he’s even still alive.

Review:

The Rain or H2O(in US) is one of the horrifying and futuristic story. Imagine, you were just hanging out with your friends and all of a sudden there comes a rain. A rain that will instantly kill you.

That’s really FRIGHTENING. The story is about survival, and rain with a mix of parasites that slowly eating your body. Amazing right!!

I actually love this concept of the story because some of it can link to real life. “I’m a sucker for apocalypse stories.” I have mixed emotions while reading this story because 1.) it’s the end of the world so you should be scared on reading it but the protagonist – Ruby trying to be funny in the midst of destruction so sometimes I chuckle. 2.) Ruby is a bad-ass girl looking for his dad. You have to take a lot of courage and strength to find him. 3.) it is quite emotional when you felt you’re alone in this destruction.

Apart from this, what made me love on the book is that how crazy it was. I know. It is actually crazy – well for me. Darwin is my favorite character here, he is a nerd and you know not popular. Darwin together with Princess (whom he found and rescued) side along with Ruby. Their journey will lead to a crazy adventure and gripping story.

However, sometimes I was teed off by her attitude and lack of clarification on the story. (I will find that out in the 2nd book)

Overall: I was hooked on this story because of the protagonist is a badass, and sardonic character. So, if you are looking for some badass lady in an apocalypse world – I recommend this book.


25835474

 

Published on October 5, 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire

Genre: YA, Post Apocalypse

My Rating: ★★★★★

Goodreads//Amazon

Synopsis:

DEADLY TO THE LAST DROP .

Ninety-seven percent of the population is dead. And the killer rain keeps falling. Ruby’s not sure she can make it on her own much longer. So when a chance encounter leads her to a camp with the last boy she may ever kiss (it’s not easy to date during an apocalypse), Ruby gratefully accepts the army’s protection.
But safety comes with a price: If Ruby wants to stay, she must keep her eyes-and her mouth-shut.

Except Ruby stumbles across a secret she can’t possibly keep. Horrified, she flips out and fights back-only to make the most shocking discovery of all…

Praise for H2O:
“Creepy and realistic. H2O left me thirsting for more.” -Kristen Simmons, author of Article 5 and Breaking Point
“Ruby’s candid, addicting narration brought this terrifying and wholly plausible story to life. This is a book you’ll devour all at once-from the safety of your umbrella!” -Jessica Khoury, author of Origin and Vitro

Review:

The sequel to the book of H2O. This deserves a 5 star-rating because I was amazed at this story. It just blown away my mind. Remember my review for the 1st book that Ruby is annoying? On this 2nd book, I finally understand her. Well, it is a lot emotional than the first book.

Ruby is alone again because Princess and Darius are at the military camp. So, she’s trying to find her dad and brother ever since they left a note on the house that they will come and get her but it’s been weeks and they haven’t arrived.

It’s a lot to take in – from the military camp to the government stuff and for the cure for the rain. A rollercoaster hell of a ride. So, for the love connection between Darwin and Ruby it is so adorable and cheesy. Darwin in the story has made the story kind of funny because the 2nd book is getting serious. So, it’s a perfect balance to have him. On the other hand, Princess is such a cutie and throughout their journey – she’s still a mystery to me.

I don’t want to spoil about when will Ruby find her brother and father but what I can only say is it’s poignant, gut-wrenching, and mysterious.

I keep saying mysterious because the mere fact that I feel like there’s gonna be a third book but the author is quiet about this! IT’S JUST giving me a heart attack..

Overall: I really love this book than the first one.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Whoa, books that are better than their first books appeal to me so much! It makes me want to read the series! I’m glad you enjoyed this – the covers look really good, and the synopsis sounds awesome! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Christine says:

      You should read this. The cover is so good right 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Finally someone who has read this, I adore these books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Christine says:

      OMG. REALLY!! We could talk about it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

