There is no way out | Book Review: Furious by T.R Ragan

 

27131260

Published on March 22, 2016 by Thomas & Mercer

Genre: Fiction, Thriller

Rating: ★★★★

Goodreads//Amazon//Book Depository

Synopsis:

Faith McMann comes home to a nightmare: her husband is killed and her son and daughter are taken. Although the intruders leave her for dead, she survives. Crippling grief and fear for her children make life unbearable. Until her anguish turns to anger…and she trades victimhood for vengeance.

Frustrated with the law’s efforts, she takes action to rescue her children—and wreaks havoc on the brutal criminals who tore them from her. With her family and newfound allies at her side, Faith descends into the hellish underworld of human trafficking, determined to make those who prey on the innocent pray for mercy.

The forces she’s up against have already proven that their ruthlessness knows no bounds. And there’s nothing they won’t do to turn Faith’s crusade into a suicide mission. But they’re about to learn that nothing is more dangerous than a mother fighting for her children—especially one who’s earned the nickname Furious


Review:

Trigger warning: This book contains sexual harassment and human trafficking.
Source: I would like to thank the Net Galley and to the publisher for providing the copy. This will not influence my reviews.
That kind of feeling when you’re reading a Mystery/Crime story and it actually terrifies you. This kind of terrifying moment will hold your attention to read it. Let me tell you straight, if you don’t like this concept don’t be hesitant to read my reviews because FURIOUS is a disturbing book, you can’t handle how gruesome it was. However, I still read it because it’s a beautiful story and a great eye opener for us.
Faith McMann has a perfect family. She is an elementary school teacher, have 2 children, and a loving husband who has an own business. Until one day unexpected occurred hit on on her family – her husband died and took her children. She will find answers who did all of this to her family.
It is my first time to read books by T.R Ragan and even reading a story about this human trafficking. In young adult section, I heard Ellen Hopkins have a book related to this but I haven’t start reading it out. I’m afraid that Human Trafficking is like a virus in our society. I hope that this will stop but every time that I asked myself HOW can we supposed to stop this? My heart is broken reading through this book, even businessman or anyone respectable person is one of the clients and owners of this kind of business. *cringe. I’m not judging okay.
The characters are all great, I don’t have any wrongful judgements about them because they are all different, they all have different stories that linked to each other. It is intense every page and will hold your breath. I didn’t realize until now that this book will make me question about everything and to be attached to it.
You may be probably wonder why did I gave it a 4 star and loved it. Unfortunately, I don’t like the way the author writes this book. She doesn’t include a timeline in the story and it is confusing to read. It was told in a 3rd point of view and sometimes 3rd point of view could be a pain in the ass when there has no specific date or year it was happened.
Side note: I received this book last year and decided to read it this year because I have actually a lot of time to read this kind of book.

Have you already read Furious or any books that similar to the story? Tell me so I would have a chance to know the other books that I didn’t know of.

Leave a Reply

