Categories
Book Review

book review: my (not so) perfect life by sophie kinsella

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre: Contemporary, New Adult

Once again, Sophie Kinsella did not fail to amuse me with her story.

Katie–a 26 year old who works at a creative agency. She’s a junior associate full of creativity however, her boss did not see her potential.
When Katie got laid off from her dream career, she went back to her hometown.

The premise of this book is incredible because it’s easy to associate with the characters, their dilemmas and wins in their life. I would say this is a half love story because it doesn’t revolve around romantic relationships but rather on life decisions and being a career woman. Nevertheless, Sophie’s writing Katie’s love story executed flawlessly.

What I also liked about this book is how it touches my heart and it centers around family. Times where Katie can’t open up to her dad and step-mom about her real life situation because she’s afraid what his dad will tell her, and ends up telling a white lie.
Our protagonist–Katie is a strong headed person and knows what she wants in life, that’s what made me admire her.
As the story goes, you will also get an opportunity to get to know her boss, named Demeter. Well, at first I disliked her but Sophie Kinsella gave her an opportunity for redemption. The side characters (which are the colleagues at work) are so funny and they add some layers to the story on how it unfolds so I don’t think you’ll feel mad at them.

Overall, this story is warm, and funny. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

Plot driven or character driven story? Character driven story.

By Christine

a reader and writer.

Leave a comment